I’ve been waiting a few weeks for a number of items to arrive in the mail, one of which is a MT8870 DTMF Decoder. dtmf

The idea is to allow the payload to be controlled with a DTMF tone. Mainly so I can initiate an emergency cut down if required.

I am using a Radiometrix RX2A for the receiver and have connected its output to one of the audio input channels of the DTMF Decoder.

20151030_215016

I modified some code found here which takes the DTMF tone and allows it to be decoded via the arduino.

Initially the tones that are being received are displayed numerically on the screen just for a test. But I still need to allow a command to run when the right combination is received.

A few tests on the work bench, and it looks to be working. I don’t have much confidence in the receiver over a longer distance, so some testing will need to occur.

