I’ve reached a point where I am now securing the payload to the tie lines running up towards the chute and balloon. I want to have as much of the securing done prior to the launch day so I save time and potential last minute problems.

I have seen some launches where the balloon is tied in line at the top of the chute as well as others where it is tied below. My initial though is that the payload is going to weight as much as the balloon itself. If upon bursting the remnants  weigh the same or maybe slightly more, then the payload, its possible that the balloon will pull the chute upside down preventing it from opening.

chute-setup
Parachute with balloon line clipped in

I have placed a mini carabiner similar to that used to hold your keys onto the line running to the chute. I’m hoping that when the balloon bursts it will fall causing the carabiner to slide down towards the payload leaving the chute clear to open.  I just need to ensure that the chute doesn’t tangle with the balloon line.

Both methods seem to have been successful for other people’s launches but I feel that the 2nd method will allow for a better chance of recovery.

payload-test
Testing out payload lines

The lines around the payload are  taking shape with some test lines taped to the sides. I still need to load the items into the payload and balance out and finally secure with more tape.

 

I will be placing the trackers in a separate box, so need to ensure that the antenna doesn’t become tangled or interfered with.

I am also trialing some fishing swivels that have a hook clip at one end. They seem to allow the rope to fit onto the swivel and are smaller then the small carabiners.

swivels
Fishing Swivel and Carabiner

 

 

I have had to use two of these specific types as the clipped end connects nicely to the rope whilst the eyelet on the swivel would require thinner rope.

payloadI am still working on the balancing of the payload but the below shots give you an indication of what it looks like so far.

